A Brief Introduction

Who are you?
For the purposes of introduction, my name is Jo.  I’m a twenty-something missus with an internet connection.

What do you do?
If you’re asking about employment, I’ve worked as a cashier, a ticket office girl, and a teacher, the latter being my favorite.  At the moment I live at home and contemplate how describing myself as a “homemaker” suggests that I ought to make sure the dirty clothes make it to the laundry hamper 100% of the time.

If you’re asking about hobbies, I read, I write, I play video games, I surf the internet.  I accidentally memorize movies.  I bake.  I photograph.  I play Dungeons and Dragons when I can find a group.  You know, the usual.

Why a blog?
An excellent question!  It does seem to me that the internet has an abundance of these and that my voice may merely be adding to the cacophony.

On the other hand, I’ve been meditating recently about my internet usage and general productivity, and the thought of starting a blog popped into my head and refused to go away, so we’re giving it a try.  Like I said, I believe part of everyone’s uniqueness stems from their unique communities and relationships, so maybe my corner of the cacophony will reach those who otherwise wouldn’t hear it at all.

So what can we expect from this blog?
I figure I’ll see how it evolves, but my tentative plan is to try a three-times-a-week posting plan about whatever happens to inspire me.  General topics will probably include morality, popular culture, metaphysics, the outdoors, marriage, Army life, my dog–alternately, things I see on Facebook and want to talk about at greater length.

I see Facebook as a public forum, a place where people gather together and exchange links and pictures and occasionally have deeper discussions–but ultimately a public place.  Facebook is for little updates, for general questions–politics and religion (among other topics) certainly come up, but I personally don’t feel like it’s always the best place to discuss those things.  And so while I might occasionally post a link that conveys my opinion on something, it’s someone else’s words, not mine, and people don’t have to click on it.

People certainly don’t have to click on the link to my blog, either, but once you’re here this is my space, and I can discuss whatever I like at whatever length I like.  And my goal is to discuss it with you! to invite your opinion and commentary, to have conversations in the comments, to seek understanding a mutual accord–I am blessed with a diversity of acquaintances and seek to grow and better myself for having known them.

So welcome again, and I hope you’ll stick around.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A Brief Introduction

  1. Pingback: The Church Militant | precisely what exists

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

