Friday Link Spam

I have an hour and a half left in the day and it has recently come to my attention that I need to write a blog post on a very serious topic, but this week has been a tired week (I am very bad at letting myself rest when I think I should be awake) and so here is another roundup of things I read this week that I think you will like.

POSTS ABOUT BABY/FAMILY-RELATED THINGS
It’s probably not something I’m going to have to worry about, but here’s five reasons not to visit a new mom in the hospital.

Instead of reading various child-raising books, try a more anthropological approach.

I almost always enjoy the posts over at Like Mother, Like Daughter, and Auntie Leila’s advice to the embarrassed mother of a four-year-old is no different. (The comment she mentions about daycare in Europe is I believe this one, though all the comments are good.)

POSTS ABOUT RELIGION AND CULTURE
A brief but excellent reflection on keeping American Sniper in perspective.

An absolutely fabulous reflection on the reception of the Eucharist and how we ought to perceive it (i.e., as none of our business). (I recommend that entire blog.)

A friend of mine wrote a beautiful and true post about the impact books can have on our lives. (Disclaimer: I am the friend in Alabama, and I also mourn the friend we lost.) (A post for another day.) (And actually, a post on that series is already in the works. But it is full of spoilers, so please–just go pick up The Thief and start from there.)

FINALLY, POSTS TO MAKE YOU LAUGH
In case you missed it, AFRICOM general killed in freak wildebeest stampede.

An embarrassing poop story from someone else’s preggo land.

Have a good weekend!

Categories: Friday Link Spam | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Friday Link Spam

  1. Emma

    We have a gazillion rellies in our home city but restricted visitors to immediate family for the reasons stated in the article πŸ™‚ You’ll be so captivated with your little one (and busy learning to feed etc!) that you won’t feel the lack of lots of nearby visitors I bet πŸ™‚

    I thought the Leila article was good but thought the daycare discussion was a bit shallow (as would be expected in a comment I guess!). I had to add my two cents as fertility (birth) rates are a bit of a hobby horse of mine (long story) and the story is far more mixed than Europe=low fertility rates=universal daycare being affordable.

    I will save your other tempting links for after my little one has been bathed and put to bed!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

